site stats
Interiors: How to curate a scene |

Interiors: How to curate a scene

Nicole Gray


View
comments

The creative duo behind interiors emporium Rockett St George on clever ways to design beautiful rooms with personality

By keeping the walls dark and understated and covering them with quirky accessories and striking artwork, this home has continuity without neglecting personality. For similar statement artwork, try King and McGaw (kingandmcgaw.com)

IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU 

Your home should be a reflection of you. Think about what makes you happy, how you live your life, your colour choices and what you like to wear. This will help you pinpoint your unique style 

Lucy has created a casual seating area in her kitchen diner. The cowhide rug and sheepskins create a warm and comforting vibe, while the foliage provides a sense of connection to the garden

A ‘style spot’ is a focal point that grabs the eye. Try grouping furniture, artwork or lighting to create impact. It will also help divide a larger room into sections. This kitchen is brimming with unusual utensils alongside quirky signs. For a similar vintage sign, try Etsy (etsy.com/uk)

Jane’s glass-fronted cabinet is overflowing with items she has collected over the years. They range from shells gathered on the beach in Mozambique to a penguin made by her daughter Eden. Try Rory Dobner (rorydobner.com) for similar eccentric pieces

CANDLE HOLDERs, £30 each, Sisters Guild, sistersguild.co.uk

HAND ORNAMENT, £15, Rockett St George, rockettstgeorge.co.uk

CANDLE HOLDERs, £30 each, Sisters Guild, sistersguild.co.uk. HAND ORNAMENT, £15, Rockett St George, rockettstgeorge.co.uk

NAPOLEON CANDLE, £110, Selfridges, selfridges.com

DISPLAY LIGHT, around £257 (not including contents), Smallable, en.smallable.com.

NAPOLEON CANDLE, £110, Selfridges, selfridges.com. DISPLAY LIGHT, around £257 (not including contents), Smallable, en.smallable.com.

DO NOT DISTURB SIGN, £8.95, Dotcomgiftshop, dotcomgiftshop.com.

ANDY WARHOL PRINT, £150, Oliver Bonas, oliverbonas.com.

DO NOT DISTURB SIGN, £8.95, Dotcomgiftshop, dotcomgiftshop.com. ANDY WARHOL PRINT, £150, Oliver Bonas, oliverbonas.com.

This kitchen fuses painted brick walls with sleek white worktops. The industrial-style cast-iron bar stools are softened by tanned leather. The effect is warm yet minimal. For similar bare-bulb pendant lights, try Heal’s (heals.com)

MIX MISMATCH 

Combining textures and materials adds depth to your space and makes for a more interesting environment

Vintage pieces such as the Saarinen Tulip table and Eames dining chairs (just seen) add classic chic, while the faux zebra head brings a sense of playfulness. Rockett St George sells similar wall-mounted faux taxidermy

Shelves, table tops and mantelpieces are the perfect places to have ‘style spots.’ Opt for pieces that offer a range of textures and sizes. A large circular mirror completes the look and reflects light into the space

Using soft linen sheets in natural shades and industrial details (including metal stars and lamps) gives this bedroom a serene feel, both functional and beautiful. For similar decorative stars try Not on the High Street (notonthehighstreet.com)

Monochrome with touches of gold and boasting sleek, clean lines, Jane’s bathroom is elegant and simple. For similar tiles, try Topps Tiles (toppstiles.co.uk)

CHEST OF DRAWERS, £499, Swoon Editions, swooneditions.com

LEATHER BAR STOOL, £255,  Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors. com.

CHEST OF DRAWERS, £499, Swoon Editions, swooneditions.com. LEATHER BAR STOOL, £255, Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors. com.

LIGHT, £29, Ikea, ikea.com

BASKETS, £165 for two, both Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors. com.

LIGHT, £29, Ikea, ikea.com. BASKETS, £165 for two, Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors. com.

CUSHION, £45, Heal¿s, heals.com

CUSHION, £45, Heal¿s, heals.com

CUSHIONS, £45 each, Heal’s, heals.com

The architecture of this light-filled apartment is instantly identifiable as Parisian. Try Tom Dixon for a similar pendant light (tomdixon.net)

GLOBETROTTER 

Travel is one of the most inspirational activities there is. It allows your mind time to wander and let creativity in. Choose your favourite parts of different cultures and translate them into your interiors

Hotels and restaurants employ some of the most cutting-edge designers on the planet. The Artist Residence Hotels, found across the UK, are a great place to get inspired. Interiors are mixed with modern art and vintage furniture. This striking artwork is by Charlie Anderson (charlie-anderson.co.uk)

This sitting room is packed with unusual tribal-inspired touches. The sofa overflows with textures and patterns. Statement pieces include the tribesman artwork and a giant beni ourain rug. For similar, try Beldi Rugs (beldirugs.com)

SOFA, £2,399, Monologue, monologuelondon.com

FRAMED PRINT, £58, French Connection, frenchconnection.com.

POUFFE, £365, Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors.com

FRAMED PRINT, £58, French Connection, frenchconnection.com. POUFFE, £365, Out There Interiors, outthereinteriors.com

BIRDS CUSHION, £135, Kit Miles, kitmiles.co.uk

CHEVRON CUSHION, £65, Heal¿s, heals.com

BIRDS CUSHION, £135, Kit Miles, kitmiles.co.uk. CHEVRON CUSHION, £65, Heal’s, heals.com.

White walls and floors white can be the perfect backdrop for statement mirrors and colourful soft furnishings. For bold artwork, try Surface View (surfaceview.co.uk). For a similar velvet chair, try Loaf (loaf.com)

WONDERWALLS 

Choosing materials for surfaces can be a minefield as there is much to consider and mistakes can be expensive. Take into account the direction your room faces, as light from the north is completely different to light from the south

This kitchen is a mixture of textures and patterns – a wood-clad extractor hood, black metro wall tiles, vintage tin tiles on the end of the counter and a stunning encaustic tile floor – that work together to create a unique look. For a similar petrol blue paint shade, try Dulux Teal Tension (diy.com)

An exposed brick wall brings an industrial feel to a space. If you want the effect but don’t have the means, try Graham Brown (grahamandbrown.com) for a brick-effect wallpaper

PRINT, £50, Anthony Burrill, anthonyburrill.com

RUG, £11,625 , Knots Rugs, knotsrugs.co.uk

MIRROR, £235, Oka, oka.com

PRINT, £50, Anthony Burrill, anthonyburrill.com. RUG, £11,625 , Knots Rugs, knotsrugs.co.uk. MIRROR, £235, Oka, oka.com

BLUE TILE, £7.68, Bert  May, bertandmay.com

BLACK AND WHITE TILE, £2.99, Fired Earth, firedearth.com

BLUE TILE, £7.68, Bert May, bertandmay.com. BLACK AND WHITE TILE, £2.99, Fired Earth, firedearth.com.

This is an edited extract from Extraordinary Interiors by Jane Rockett and Lucy St George, published by Ryland Peters Small, price £19.99. 

 To order a copy for £15.99 (a 20 per cent discount) until 5 November, visit you-bookshop.co.uk or call 0844 571 0640; PP is free on orders over £15. Offer valid until 5 November.  

Shopping panels compiled by Charlotte Page

Words Jane Rockett and Lucy St George

 

 

 


Comments 0

Share what you think

No comments have so far been submitted. Why not be the first to send us your thoughts,
or debate this issue live on our message boards.

Close

 

Close

We will automatically post your comment and a link to the news story to your Facebook timeline at the same time it is posted on MailOnline. To do this we will link your MailOnline account with your Facebook account. We’ll ask you to confirm this for your first post to Facebook.

You can choose on each post whether you would like it to be posted to Facebook. Your details from Facebook will be used to provide you with tailored content, marketing and ads in line with our Privacy Policy.

Category: Accessories  Tags: ,  Comments off
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.